David Esterly. Elegant wood carvings

20 photo

There once was and worked back in the 17th century wood carver Grinling Gibbons. Lived so fruitfully, which even today is referred to as the most talented and outstanding carver in his field. So the work of this most engraver made a lasting impression on our today’s David Esterly. When David, by fate, in the 1970s went to one of London’s churches, was vastly impressed that part of the altar, which was decorated with wooden floral pattern thinning, which three centuries ago cut Grinling Gibson. As a result, today we have no less talented carver, but only temporarily less famous. David could not just pass by the work of this man. Then he decided to write about a talented carver of the 17th century book. To best experience the master, David bought a piece of wood, the necessary tools to continue to learn the basics started his own thread. It turned out quite well, especially when you consider that David Esterly always thought that he had no artistic abilities. Difficulties he had not shied away from, but because the work did not stop, and tried again and again. Soon, this carving has taken root in him so much that he forgot about the book, which originally wanted to write, and artistic carving became his life primarily.

One of David’s thoughts: During the general devastation surrounding nature is a special poignancy in the beauty of the fine carved foliage and acquiring skills necessary for its creation. This is sort of a rebuke and warning, our sharpening our awareness that we are losing nature …

Many years later, David still wrote a book called “Grinling Gibbons and the art of carving.” And this was not just a book admirer and viewer, by the time he wrote it already knows all the nuances of the thread people. Student received a book about the teacher, who has never seen and were separated by three centuries.

In 1986, at Hampton Court Palace (this is the former residence of the kings of England in the country), there was a fire. Then it was David Easterly invited for the restoration of damage a few meters thread Gibbons.

At the end of the fast graphic video that briefly shows the process and some important details in this kind of work, to which most come for a long time …

David Esterly. Изящная резьба по дереву

20 фото


Жил-был и творил в далеком 17-м веке резчик по дереву Гринлинг Гиббонс. Жил так плодотворно, что и поныне упоминается как самый талантливый и выдающийся резчик в своей сфере. Так вот работы этого самого резчика произвели неизгладимое впечатление на нашего сегодняшнего автора David Esterly. Когда Дэвид, волею судьбы, в 1970-ых зашел в одну из лондонских церквей, то был крайней степени восхищен той частью алтаря, что украшалась утонченнейшим деревянным растительным узором, который три века назад вырезал Гринлинг Гиббсон. В результате, сегодня мы получили резчика не менее талантливого, но лишь временно менее знаменитого. Дэвид не мог просто пройти мимо творчества этого человека. Тогда он решил написать о талантливом резчике 17-го века книгу. Чтобы лучше прочувствовать мастера, Девид купил кусок дерева, необходимые инструменты и далее принялся собственноручно изучать основы резьбы. Получалось вполне хорошо, особенно если учитывать, что David Esterly всегда думал, что не располагает художественными возможностями. Трудностей он не чурался, а потому работу не прекращал, и пробовал все снова и снова. Вскоре эта резьба по дереву прижилась в нем настолько, что он и о книге забыл, которую изначально хотел написать, а художественная резьба стала в его жизни главным.

Одна из мыслей Дэвида: В период всеобщих разрушений окружающей нас природы есть особая трогательность в красоте тонкой резной листвы и обретении навыков, которые необходимых для ее сотворения. Это своеобразный упрек и предупреждение, обострение нашего наше осознания того, что мы теряем природу…

Через много лет Дэвид все же написал книгу под названием «Гринлинг Гиббонс и искусство резьбы». И это была уже не просто книга почитателя и зрителя, к тому времени ее писал уже знающий все нюансы резьбы человек. Получилась книга ученика об учителе, которые никогда не виделись и были разделены тремя веками.

В 1986-ом в Hampton Court Palace (это бывшая резиденция английских королей за городом) произошел пожар. Тогда именно Дэвида Эстерли пригласили для реставрации повреждений в нескольких метрах резьбы Гиббонса.

В окончание поста наглядное видео к котором кратко показан сам процесс и некоторые важные детали в этом виде творчества, до которых самому доходить довольно долго…